Apple WatchOS 10: Added FTP Estimation and Power Meter Connectivity

Watching WWDC in realtime but looks like WatchOS 10 will have the ability to estimate FTP and connect to power meters for the cycling activity.

10 Likes

No ant+ connectivity, all Bluetooth

1 Like

Don’t worry, Apple is coming out with an Apple Watch ANT+ dongle

sarcasm

10 Likes

Curious about battery life on the non ultra watches with gps.

4 Likes

I understand there are still a lot of devices that use ANT+ but my impression was that ANT+ was somewhat being deprecated for Bluetooth? I am relatively new to cycling so all my devices are Bluetooth compatible.

Can’t find much material on it yet but here is the watchOS 10 summary graphic.

Cycling screen with power is on the left hand side:

5 Likes

A lot of devices won’t dual broadcast with only Bluetooth. So, as an example, your HRM may not allow you to broadcast with only Bluetooth to Zwift and TR simultaneously.

5 Likes

if anything they will create a new private protocol, never to be shared with other companies, and ask PM makers to adopt it so apple user can connect PM to the apple watches.

apple will solve this with appletooth

3 Likes

:rofl:

Scroll down to cycling and you can read more on it:

Apple Watch can now automatically connect to Bluetooth-enabled cycling accessories, such as power meters, speed sensors, and cadence sensors. This enables brand-new metrics, including cycling power (watts) and cadence (RPM), and additional Workout Views, including Power Zones. Bluetooth connection is supported for Indoor and Outdoor cycling workouts, as well as GymKit.