Endurance training basics

Hi there, before I get into my question I have two disclaimers. First please excuse my grammar as english is a secondary language for me. Second I am very new to this/any forum so also excuse if I put this in the wrong thread.
I am a triathlete with about 2 years of training experience as of now. Starting with the sport I did a lot of research on how to structure, organise, polarise, periodize, etc. your endurance training. I have to say all those different training models get me a fair bit confused. Some models work with 5 training Zones (one being Recovery and five being anaerobic work), some work with 3 Zones. Some models say stay away from Zone 3 and some say do a lot of “sweet spot” work.
Now, I am currently and have been doing it for these two years training with the concept of doing a long bike ride on the weekend +4 hours only endurance work (I really try and stay in Zone 2 for the entire ride). During the week I do different interval sessions on zwift (usually threshold intervals, VO2max intervals and sometimes some anaerobic intervals). I do see some gains in my FTP (from under 200 to 245 now) but I wonder, how am I supposed to perform in a long race if I only ever did long and slow or short but hard/fast ?
Second question: I understand that (following a periodized training approach) you do different blocks of training (base training, build and peak) and that your training will differ depending on what phase you are in. But wount I lose my base conditioning during lets say a building phase if I stop doing so much base workouts and focus on more intense workouts?
Am I still doing any Zone 2 workouts during higher intensity blocks? Will I not lose my high intensity gains during the off season as I will focus more on strenght, recovery and base training ?

Thanks in advance!!

2 Likes

Great questions. Welcome to the community.