Do you use/follow garmin training metrics?

I’m curious if people here use the Garmin training metrics like training readiness to guide or influence their training or consider at all or just see it as a curiosity.

Yes

I’m new to Garmin and my watch doesn’t have a training readiness score. But it does show me HRV and overnight resting heart rate. I’ve been keeping an eye on both to guide whether I’m pushing the right amount or too hard. For example, I was sick recently and not surprisingly HRV went down and resting heart rate went up. I looked at those metrics and took an extra day or two of rest than I probably would have if I just went based on how I felt as I recovered from the illness.

No

1 Like

I track them, but they don’t rule me.

11 Likes

Same I look at them and consider them at times but don’t really follow them.

2 Likes

lol no

I pay a human to tell me what to do

3 Likes

Of all of them Performance Condition is probably the least relevant to me. I’m actually going to disable the prompt for that on my 1040 as it’s pretty useless. I’m already on the bike, and I’m not going to change my ride based on a beep and a screen prompt of a number that I have no idea how they came up with it.

Art O’Conner (Wukarfit) famously said on Insta, All those numbers are just made up, save, time, maybe cadence, and depending on the chest strap, HR. the rest is just opaque algorithmic nonsense.

RPE rules all, the rest are just interesting things that may or may not align with RPE.

3 Likes

lol me too but that won’t always be the case. It’s funny because I will say one of the primary benefits of being coached for me has become load mgmt. Not just physical but knowing when to tell me I need to take a break to keep from burning out mentally

1 Like

I’ve only just recently started to look at the data more frequently

Yes, I have just a few minutes ago been overruled on a suggestion to move up a workout one day earlier.