"Race" bike for long legs/short torso rider

Hi all,

I’m considering getting a new bike and have trouble defining the best choice considering fit/geometry and feel/handling aspects for racing. I have been enjoying this forum very much and thought that you guys could maybe give me some insights !

I’ve been riding and racing short distance triathlons for 3 years on a Giant TCX SLR 2 (cyclocross bike). I had a bike fitter look at my position and overall the “short and tall” CX bike is well suited to my body type (longer legs with short torso) and the need for a forward tri position (edit).

I’m considering getting into cx races and road/crit races in the future and figured that I would be best with two bikes: the TCX SLR for cyclocross and a road bike for road/crits/triathlons.

edit: after all the cx bike may stay my triathlon bike if it allows me to get a better position (steepening the seat angle by moving the saddle forward and resting the arms on clippons). Will have to test if I am quicker on a race bike with a road position or on the cx bike with a somewhat tri position. Curious how that will compare aero-wise, power-wise and confort-wise.

My actual bike has a stack of 556 and a reach of 375 cm and I had to change the seatpost for a zero offset one to get a better 'tri" position with clipp ons. Therefore I am looking for a road bike with similar stack and reach. Ideal stack would be a little higher, in the 560 - 580 range and reach should stay close to 375-380.

edit : will ask my fitter about best stack and reach range for road racing as I think his previous recommandations were biased by my triathlon needs. These needs exagerate my need for a short and tall bike, given my relative (but not extreme) longer legs / short torso.

After some research I’ve come to the conclusion that the bikes that would best fit me are in the “endurance” range of bike manufacturers. Especially :

• Trek Domane (54) - closest to my fit